LEAD Valedictory Hubli-Dharwad, Sirsi, Gadag, Laxmeshwar, and Hulkoti


The 2013 LEAD Valedictory function was held on May 6th, 2013, at the Deshpande Foundation in Hubli to commemorate LEADers throughout the Hubli-Dharwad, Sirsi, Gadag, Laxmeshwar, and Hulkoti regions on their year-long efforts. This celebratory event attracted and unified over 250 students and their parents, as well as 12 faculty members, from throughout 15 different colleges.

LEAD (LEaders Accelerating Development Program) aims to develop leadership, problem solving, and entrepreneurial skills through an innovative approach within college students.  Through funding, support, and guidance from the LEAD team at the Deshpande Foundation, LEADers implement projects to create solutions for unresolved problems in their communities.



Honorable guests of LEAD Valedictory included Mr. Naveen Jha (CEO, Deshpande Foundation), Dr. Mohan Kumar (Principal, SDMCET, Dharwad), Dr. Basavaraj Anami (Principal, KLEIT, Hubli), Dr. Gorbal (Vice-Principal, SKSVMACET, Laxmeshwar), Mr. R. G. Hegde (Principal, MES College of Commerce, Sirsi), and Mr. Gautam Ostwal (CEO, Elegant Drugs, Hubli).

The event began with an introduction by Mr. Ajay Suman Shukla (Functional Head, LEAD), who spoke about the tremendous growth and success that the LEAD program has experienced in the past five years since its inception.

Several faculty members discussed how LEAD has helped diversify and enhance the college experiences of the students.  A few LEADers were then given the opportunity to speak about how LEAD encouraged their personal growth and development.

Mr. Naveen Jha (CEO, Deshpande Foundation) inspired the LEADers by speaking about the power and potential of the youth to instigate positive change in India.  According to him, “There are 300 million youth in India right now.  If each of them did a LEAD project, we could be rid of our problems…the power of small initiatives is very immense.”

Special awards were then presented to various students and faculty members who demonstrated exceptional leadership, projects, and support.  The LEAD Valedictory function award categories and recipients are listed below: 

Supporting College and Faculty: Madhumati (KLEIT, Hubli)
Gorbal (SKSVMACET, Laxmeshwar)
S.M. Hegde (MES College of Commerce, Sirsi)
Best Teamwork: Bharath and team (KLEIT, Hubli)
Revati and team (KCD Science College)
Best Project: Kartik H. (REC, Hulkoti)
Sandesh Bhat (MES College of Commerce, Sirsi)
Best Fundraiser and Event Organizer: Chandrashekar Annigeri (KLEJT, Gadag)
Pawan Kumar (BVBCET, Hubli)
Most Initiatives Taken: Kartik Bhat (MES College of Commerce, Sirsi)
Aarya Hallikeri (KLEIT, Hubli)
Best Social Media Promotion: Aarya Halikeri (KLEIT, Hubli)
Best Active Volunteer of the Year: Vijay Matti (SKSVMACET, Laxmeshwar)
Technical Innovation: Atheeq (REC, Hulkoti)
Energy Conservation: Vishwas Hegde (RNS Polytechnic College, Sirsi)
Nihal (SDMCET, Dharwad)
Effective Community Sensitization: Pavaman and Sameer (SDMCET, Dharwad)
Best Project: Techno Social Innovation: Naveen Kumar (SKSVMACET, Laxmeshwar)
Project of Social Value Creation: Jyoti (Kittle Science College, Dharwad)
Project of Education Promotion: Shruti (KLEIT, Hubli)
Marcia (KLEIT, Hubli)
Somashekar (SKSVMACET, Laxmeshwar)
Agriculture: Raghav (MES College of Commerce, Sirsi)
Project of Employment Creation: Harsha Hegde (MES College of Commerce, Sirsi)
Livelihood Promotion: Vinayak Bhat (MES College of Commerce, Sirsi)
Best Social Change and Media Attraction: Sai Prakash (KLEIT, Hubli)
Best Community Impact: Ramesh Bhat (Govt First Grade College, Sirsi)
Environment Friendly Initiative: Harish Pawar (KLEIT, Hubli)

The 2013 LEAD Valedictory Function honored not only the LEADers and their projects, but it also celebrated the power of youth, leadership, and initiative.

Spread the love

Leave a Response